top of page

Northland Snatch The Russell Grace

Final Report 2023 Golf NZ Women’s Masters

Otaki 31 March – 2 April 2

Northland have done it! For the second time. A tough and energetic team that consisted of Jenny Peters, Kylie Jacoby, Aroha Tito and Samantha Dangen, Northland have won the 2023 New Zealand Women’s Masters with a 7-point margin, 380 gross stableford points.

Northland started the day 2 shots behind Waikato, after the 3 previous rounds but came out fighting with strong opening holes in particular. They turned 7 points up after 9-holes and from there on, the mighty ‘Waikato’ were in catch up mode.

Top rounds for the team include Aroha Tito with 35 points, 32 for Kylie Jacoby and 31 for Samantha Dangen.

90 points or more each round gets a good team placing; Northland had a sweet 98 pointer today and up the leader board they went, into 1st place.

Waikato who led from the first round will rue their misfortune today. The passionate Moo Loo’s posted a team total of 89, with the top scores carded by Julie Gee, 32 and Robyn Pellow, the long-time captain, with 29 points. For 2023 they will need to settle for 2nd place but one things for sure they will be back with vengeance in 2024!

North Harbour held their overnight position of 3rd to take the bronze medal having claimed the silver medal in 2022 at Alexandra. They continue to be ‘there or thereabouts’ and will come back fighting next year for sure. This writer knows they would love to have Harbour on that trophy, one year at least!

Bay of Plenty come in 4th place – having previously won the Russell Grace six times, the last time in Whangarei in 2021. The team had smiles however for their captain, Heather Keefe who was the leading individual for the 2nd time, taking the Canterbury Shield. Keefe finished with 131 personal points, one point ahead of Waikato’s Michelle Archer. Bay of Plenty had a tough ride in 2022 finishing in 13th place so they will be chuffed with their jump into 4th place for 2023.

Hawkes Bay Poverty Bay were delighted with their jump from 10th place last year to 5th in 2023, 358 points. Top scorer for the team Diana Syer with 123 points. Just behind on 357 points was Auckland with a new look team. Brigit Holford the anchor for many years was joined by Kelly Maxwell, niece of well-known Kaye Maxwell, past Queen Sirikit player Kate Jeon and, Sophie Feng. Maxwell, Jeon and Feng playing in their first masters gave the team that finished in 12th place last year a credible jump to 6th.

Canterbury started well in the first round, in 2nd place overnight on Friday but couldn’t match the pace and have had to return to the Mainland settling with 7th place, 354 points.

12 districts entered teams this year, with Otago and Tasman missing. The final five places were Southland, Wellington, Manawatu Wanganui, Aorangi and Taranaki. Team points were 335, 323, 317, 311 and 309 respectfully.


bottom of page