top of page

Two-Peat for Gole!

Final Report – 2024 Senior Women’s Championships

Friday 9 February – Rotorua Golf Club


Match Play

Gole Two-Peat!

Disappointment for the left hander from Manawatu, when Lisa Herbert lost to the defending champion, Nadene Gole (Australia). In one of those epic matches – the opening holes belonged to Herbert who was 4 up through 8 holes after birdies on the 3rd, 6th, 7th, and an opening par on the 1st when Gole bogeyed.   In came the birdie run from Gole; the 8th, 10th, 11th, 13th to come back square.  All square to the 16th when sadly for Herbert a solid drive got one of ‘those bounces’ and into the Arikikapakapa Lake.  The match was won on the 18th by Gole who will now lead Australia into next weeks Trans-Tasman Cup.


The Plate was won by Robyn Pullar (Invercargill) over Tracy Bary (Rarangi).  The Australian Trans-Tasman captain Helen Pascoe had two wins today including the Flight #1 final, 3 and 1 over Alison Glover (Ngaruawahia).  Another Trans-Tasman challenge in the 2nd flight won by Jacqui Morgan, on the 19th over Robyn Boniface (Queens Park). 


In other divisions, Annette Muir (Waitemata) battled all 18 holes to win 1 up, claiming the Waipukurau Jubilee Salver, from Jenny Ferrier (Motueka).   Plate winner was Kaye- Maree Mihaljeich (Te Ngutu), The 1st flight Carolyn Cressey (Omaha Beach) and the Flight #2 won by Di Sweeney (Walton).


Joanne Wilton-Eadie (Foxton) took out the Hawkes Bay Salver – solid play with a win – 6 and 4, over Marina Gopperth (Manaia).  The Plate was won by Fay Ford (Manaia) after a 20-hole marathon against Chris Mackenzie (Matamata), with the 1st flight won by Gareth Hughes (Patea), the 2nd flight won by Heather Gifkins (Waitomo).


Michelle Cathie (Manaia) needed an extra hole to win the Manawatu Wanganui Salver Division 4, beating Heather Richardson (Waikere) on the 19th.   Mandy Rusk (Waiuku) won the plate, with a win on the 18th hole over Sheelah Lamb (Matamata).  Slightly more comfortable win for Anne McKenzie (Otago) 4 and 2 over Wendy Roach (Ngaruawahia) to win the 1st flight, the 2nd flight won on the 20th by Marg Hughes (Te Anau). 


Canterbury Rosebowl: Huge local accolades to Louise Armstrong 3 and 2 over her club mate Wai Morrison. Armstrong had impressive wins in her four matches: 10 and 8 over Mo Neville (Ngaruawahia), 8 and 6 over Paula Parfitt (Hauraki) and 4 and 3 earlier in the day in her semi-final, over the top seed in that division, Teena McColl (Matarua).  Donna Gaskell (Matamata) won the Plate, after an 18-hole battle with Anita Newman (Greenacres), finally winning 1 up.  Trish Stewart won the 2nd flight, Alison Keane (Hauraki) the 1st flight.


Bev McLean (Cambridge) will take home the Maunu Trophy (6th Division) with her win 5 and 4 over Verna Bourke (Patea), with Hauraki’s Claire Williams winning the Plate 2 and 1 over Raima Neil (Ngaruawahia). Flight 1 was won by Jane Williams (Castlepoint), with the 2nd Flight secured by Saku Cunningham (Chisholm Links).


The Wanaka Trophy was won by Angela Curle (Hamilton) 3 and 2 over Sinead Keaney (Akarana), the 7thdivision qualifiers. The Plate was won by the ‘Duchess of Dipton-’ Paddy Craig 6 and 4, against Raewyn Prattley (Chisholm Links).   Pam Johnston (Waitomo) claimed the Flight No #2 and Flight No #1 Jenny Dobson (New Plymouth).


The winner of the 8th Division, in a division that was affected by withdrawals, was Christine Alley (Paeroa) who won 7 and 6 over Mandy Smalley (Winton) and will be the 2024 recipient of the Waihi Cup.


Earlier in the week the 116 players competed for the Curtis Cup and their place in the respective divisions.  Awarded tonight in the closing ceremony and dinner, the Curtis Cup for the best gross, Lisa Herbert, (Manawatu), Best Nett Di Sweeney (Walton) and the best gross for a player aged 70+ to Ros McIver (Australia) for the second year running – an impressive achievement.

Denise Langdon

GNZ Tournament Director


bottom of page