top of page

The MOO LOO bells are ringing in Alexandra

2022 NZ Womens Masters @ Alexandra GC

Results Final after Round 4 Sunday 3 April 2022

Download PDF • 74KB


2022 NZ Women’s Masters

The Mighty Waikato Triumph

Alexandra Golf Course 1-3 April 2022

They did it! - The Russell Grace Trophy returns to the Waikato for the 4th time. The four woman team of Jill Morgan, Robyn Pellow, Michelle Archer and Sian Stevenson have won the 30th Women’s Masters in commanding form.

Leading from the 1st round, on Friday 1 April, they never relinquished their lead securing the trophy this afternoon, 27 gross stableford points ahead of second placed North Harbour.

The tournament was set up originally by a group of Cantabrians who wanted to have a tournament for ‘older’ women who had played for their district at an interprovincial level but were now seeking a format that encompassed women aged 40 plus. The four round format, scored by gross stableford points pits the 14 districts against each other, where the best 3 scores per team per round count to the team totals.

The Waikato team players all contributed in some round with the top scorer being Jill Morgan with 132 points, Pellow with 128, Archer 122 and Stevenson with 116. Team points a total of 383. It was theirs to lose from round one, but they never let that happen with gutsy and determined play each round.

An extremely tight unit they have been cheered on all weekend by a strong group from home who have travelled down to support these talented ladies. The Moo Loo bells were in attendance.

Harbour had the best performance of the day with 95 team points today rocketing them into outright 2nd place. Top performances by captain Rebecca Barrow with 119 points and Annette Muir, the popular Australian, who had an outstanding tournament with 124 points. Harbour finished in 5th equal place in 2021, they will be well pleased with their 2nd place in 2022, 356 points.

Three teams were tied with 354 points and as per conditions that stipulate that the non-counting card in round 4 be used to determine a winner, host district Otago came in! Liz McRae with sister Mary Hore, were joined by Susan Grieg and Tracey Storer; sunny days in an amazing environment and the crowds were thanked for their support with the bronze medal going to these popular ladies. Originally a non-counting card, Storer’s 27 points was needed to get them over the line.

Southland, who won the Russell Grace trophy six times have had to settle with a share of the 3rd place scores but out of medal contention. Manawatu Wanganui, who had a win on the central Otago course in 1994, also had to settle for a share of 3rd place on points, but not able to claim the bronze medal.

However some consolation to the ‘Mang-Wang’ team with the leading individual Canterbury Shield being awarded to Lisa Herbert with her 139 points. Herbert’s score was 7 points ahead of Waikato’s Jill Morgan, and Southland’s Robyn Boniface who had 131 points.

Such is the secret of the power of the glass Canterbury Shield and the bright sun, as the prize table was set up, smoke came up from the tablecloth, quickly extinguished!

Northland came home in 5th place with 347 points, down from their second placing last year in a rain affected tournament that was played over 36 holes only.

Canterbury with 346 points in 6th place, down from their 2021 4th placing. Tasman that started in the top four overnight have had to settle for 7th place with a poor showing today, Wellington in 8th place with 325 points, 3 ahead of Hawkes Bay / Poverty Bay.

With some work to do in 2023 are Taranaki 321 points, Auckland with 316, Bay of Plenty with 314 and Aorangi finishing with 298. Both Auckland and Bay of Plenty had to contend with injury issues, the Bay of Plenty playing reserve Deborah Doyle twice and Auckland’s Brigit Holford having to retire mid round today.

The tournament belonged to Waikato, the Moo Loo bells will ring late into the night – well done to the team!

Denise Langdon

Tournament Director

Phone 0275 662 385


Os comentários foram desativados.
bottom of page