top of page

2022 Golf New Zealand Women's Senior Foursomes

Mercury Bay Golf Club, Whitianga; Monday 21 – Thursday 24 November


It was Mercury Bay’s night after a rain affected 2022 Senior Women’s Foursomes with Kay Buckeridge & Christine van Veen (Fairview & Mercury Bay) winning the NZLGU Championship. Kay who now hails from Fairview was a past Mercury Bay club champion and a course record holder. She only recently moved to the Fairview Golf Club. With many ties still in Mercury Bay and a course she knows well, Kay teamed up with ‘newbie’ Christine van Veen who had never played in a national tournament.

The pair qualified 10th in Monday’s net round but then went on to have four solid wins to take the 2022 title. Their final win, 3 and 2 was over another local pair Lynne Butler & Robyn Evans (Mercury Bay).

Despite several delays and a few massive rain bombs that left the country course flooded at times and a soggy challenge, the 62 pairs played with conviction and the 2022 tournament was completed.

The players, who came from as far away as Canterbury to Northland, had an 18-hole qualifying round before splitting into four divisions. The pairs playing in their divisions then compete in 18-hole match play, handicap foursomes.

Top qualifiers were Ngaire English and Robyn Pardy (North Shore) who after losing their first-round match, competed in the Plate, losing that final yesterday afternoon, not able to match Monday’s fine form.

The 2nd division, competing for the Mrs. SS Wilson Plates, was won by Kate Peri & Carole Anderson (Windross Farm & Titirangi), 2 and 1, over opponents Jillian Reakes & Sheelah Lamb (Cambridge & Matamata).

The ADLGA Trophies go to Nelson with Fran Sutherland & Maree West (Totaradale & Nelson) winning 4 and 3 over Liz Banton & Debbie Erceg (Pupuke) in yesterday’s final. Fran and Maree were winners last year, in the Mrs SS Wilson division. A formidable pair that now have their names on two trophies, in as many years.

Paula Parfitt & Claire Williams (Hauraki) took out the Rosetown Trophies with a win over Christina Tiang & Marie Dunne (North Shore), 8 and 7, a convincing result and a tough beating for the North Shore pair.

Despite the weather the course was in excellent condition with many staff and volunteers taking on the challenge of a national tournament, preparing the flat fairways, greens and surrounds for months. Many accolades were passed on to the club last night for their course presentation, enthusiasm and efforts in all areas including the large field of volunteers preparing food for the lunches and several functions.

The four plate winners included Donna Mitchell & Lesley Barley (Motueka & Omaha Beach), Robin White & Pru Bell (Nelson), Di Sweeney & Deb Ring (Walton) along with another Walton pair, Mary Thomas & Karen Sweeney.

In a long time women’s-golf tradition that has multiple flights in all divisions to give all maximum playing time, players are guaranteed at least four matches. Flights winners were, Lynda Tate & Christine Pears (Omaha Beach & Akarana), Sharyn Smith & Fiona Gardien (Mercury Bay), Christine Fleury & Linda Armstrong (Waitemata & Huapai), Alison Waugh & Marietta Durdle (Pupuke), Jill Agnew & Lynda Evans (Whangamata), Sharon McGeown & Shirley Springer (Motueka & Mercury Bay), Rachel Johnston & Dana Slierendrecht (Mercury Bay & Nelson) and Shirley Otton (Waitangi) & Chris Pitcaithly (Nelson).

PaR nz Golfing Holidays who manage the tournament on behalf of Golf New Zealand announced that the 2023 tournament will be hosted at Katikati’s Fairview Golf Course. Details and entry forms will be available mid-2023.


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page