2022 NZ Womens Senior Matchplay @ Otago GC

START DATE: 13 Feb 2022
END DATE: 16 Feb 2022
Otago GC Dunedin
Tournament Entry NZ$180


The 2022 New Zealand Women’s Senior Championships will be hosted by the Otago Golf Club also known as the Balmacewen Course in Dunedin. 

Dates: Sunday 13 February to Wednesday 16 February 2022

Please carefully note the change of playing days in the programme

We are delighted to be hosting this prestigious championship at the Otago Golf Club which in 2021 will celebrate its 150th anniversary. It is recognised as the oldest club in the Southern Hemisphere, established in 1871. Players will get the chance to walk in the footsteps of golfing legends, Gene Sarazen, Arnold Palmer, Gary Player, Peter Thomson, Bobby Locke, Marilynn Smith (Founder LPGA) along with New Zealand’s Sir Bob Charles, Greg Turner, Frank Nobilo, Phil Tataurangi, and Michael Campbell – to name but a few of the greats that have battled it out on the Balmacewen course.

This will be the 74th year of the NZ Women’s Senior Championship and the programme includes a qualifying round, competing for three trophies, before three rounds of match play in eight divisions. Winners after three rounds will play on in the finals, in all divisions including flights and plates. The top division competes in “off- the-stick” match play: all other divisions compete in handicap match play.

The tournament is managed by PaR nz Limited t/as PaR nz Golfing Holidays under the auspices of Golf New Zealand  Inc.  

The field will be limited to the first 128 paid entries received.

Denise Langdon

Tournament Director I PaR nz Golfing Holidays 



Open to all affiliated WOMEN golfers – aged 50 and over as the first day of the tournament. Women’s handicap - Maximum index of 40.4 or an overseas equivalent.  Refer the Golf NZ standard Tournament Conditions for the full list of eligibility criteria.

Entry Fees

  • $180 Tournament entry per player includes welcome reception  
  • $69 Tournament Shirts booked with entry includes Golf NZ logo
  • $40 per person for the final dinner / prize giving evening 


  • Push trundlers, booked with entry $24 for the tournament week including practice round
  • Electric trundlers, booked with entry (limited) $60 for the tournament week including practice round,  allocated on a first-in basis.


Electric carts, must be booked and approved by the tournament director (i.e., carts cannot be booked directly with the pro shop). Cost for the tournament week payable direct.

Programme 2022

Saturday 12 February

  • Player Registration 2.00pm – 5.00pm in the clubhouse
  • Complimentary pre-booked practice rounds from 3.00pm

Sunday 13 February

  • Stroke play Qualifying Round, tee times 1st/10th from 8.30am 
  • From 5.30pm - 7.00pm Welcome Function Otago GC Clubhouse 

Monday 14 February

  • Round 1 Match play, tee times 1st/10th from 8.30am

Tuesday 15 February

  • Round 2 Match play, tee times 1st/10th from 8.30am

Wednesday 16 February 

  • Round 3 Match play, tee times 1st/10th from 8.00am
  • From midday finals all divisions
  • From 7.00pm Prize Giving Dinner - Otago GC Clubhouse

Practice Rounds

  • Practice times available pm on Saturday 12 February 
  • For out of town players including international entrants, if you are unable to practice on Saturday 12 February, an alternative time may be available with the agreement of the OGC on Friday 11 February, or the week preceding the tournament.  Players should note however that the ‘courtesy of the club’ will only extend to one complementary round per player pre the tournament.
  • Phone +64 3 467 2096  or email info@otagogolfclub.co.nz
  • Practice rounds outside of this will be charged at normal affiliated member prices

2021 Trophy Winners

Curtis Cup: (Best Gross) Diana Syer (Wairakei Int.)

Eileen Nutt Salver & Badge: (Best Nett) Joanne McDonald (New Plymouth)

Senior Veterans Cup: (Best Gross 70+) Valmai McEldowney (New Plymouth)


Veterans Challenge Cup:   Robyn Boniface (Queens Park)

Waipukurua Jubilee Salver:   Anna Brabyn (Taupo)

Hawkes Bay Salver:   Chris Thomson (Taupo)

Manawatu / Wanganui Salver:   Andrea Mark (Paraparaumu Beach)

Canterbury Rosebowl:   Sue Lourie (Ngaruawahia)

Maunu Trophy:   Carmel Hyndman (Wanaka)

Wanaka Trophy:   Brenda Duncan (Gore)

Waihi Cup:   Jean Logan (Chisholm Links)

Contact us here for more information on this golf holiday.


2022 Grande Europe Golf Tour
2022 South Africa Golf and Safari Tour
14 day North Island New Zealand Golf Packages
2022 Trinity Hill Hawkes Bay 4-Course Golf Classic
2022 Copthorne Bay of Islands 4-Course Golf Classic
2022 Bay of Plenty 5 Course Classic Final chance